Things always seem to get weird when the Rams and Seahawks square off, and that was certainly true of Thursday night’s matchup. As if it wasn’t strange enough that both Matthew Stafford and Russell Wilson both suffered finger injuries, this play happened in the third quarter – and it’s sure to be one you’ve never seen before.
Michael Dickson went back to punt for the Seahawks and his kick was blocked by Jamir Jones, who is playing his first game with the Rams. The ball bounced toward the sideline and Dickson scooped it up in an attempt to make a play.
He broke upfield but as defenders began to bear down on him, he decided to punt the ball again, which actually worked initially. But of course, you can’t punt it twice in one play … right?
Well, it turns out you can. Officials deemed that there was no penalty on the play for punting it twice because as the rulebook states, a second kick behind the line of scrimmage is legal as long as it doesn’t cross the line.
As Kevin Seifert of ESPN points out below, the initial punt didn’t cross the line but Dickson was definitely beyond the line of scrimmage after he picked it up and attempted to kick it again.
It was a very confusing play that even baffled the officiating staff, and it stood as a 68-yard punt all the way to the Rams’ 11-yard line.
You learn something new every day, I suppose.